Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa District

The Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa District Assembly (AOBDA) is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 22 of MMDAs in the Central Region.

It was established as a District Assembly on 22nd November 1988 by Legislative Instrument (LI) 1378 with its administrative capital as Breman Asikuma.

The District is located in the north-central portion of the Central Region of Ghana. It covers an area of 884.84 square kilometers. It is located between latitude 50 51” and 50 52” North and longitude 10 50” and 10 5” West.

The District is bordered on the north by Birim South District in the Eastern Region, on the south by Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam District, on the west by Assin South District and on the east by Agona East District.

The population of the district according to the 2010 population and housing census stands at 112,706 with 54,293 males and 58,413 females.