Gomoa Central

The Gomoa Central is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in Ghana, and forms part of the 22  MMDAs in the Central Region.

With its capital as Afransi, the district was carved out of the then Gomoa District in 2008 by the Legislative Instrument 1883 and became operational on 29th February 2008. It occupies an area of 539.69 square kilometers and it is located in the south-eastern part of the Central Region.

It is bordered to the north-east by Agona East District, south-west by Gomoa West District, east by Awutu Senya East Municipal and Ga South Municipal in the Greater Accra Region and to the south by Effutu Municipal. The Atlantic Ocean borders the south-eastern part of the district.

The population of the district according to the 2010 population and housing census stands at 207,071 with 98,323 males and 108,748 females.