Kwahu Afram Plains North

Kwahu Afram Plains North District (formally Kwahu North District) is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and Districts Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of the 33 Municipalities and Districts in Eastern Region.

Located in the Northernmost part of the Eastern Region, the District covers an area of 5,040 sq km and is the largest District in the Eastern Region in terms of landmass and has its capital as Donkorkrom.

There are two main entrances into the Kwahu Afram Plains North by road. Namely through Nkawkaw-Mpraeso-Bepong-Kwahu Tafo and Adawso from where the three-kilometer wide Afram River is crossed to Ekye-Amanfrom by a ferry operated by the Volta Lake Transport Company (VLTC).

The second entrance is through Kpandu-Torkor in the Volta Region from where the Volta Lake is again crossed by a one-and-a-half-hour portion journey to clock at Agordeke from where one can travel by road through Amankwaa and Adeemmra to the District capital.

There is another minor entrance into the district from Atebubu in the Brong Ahafo Region into Ntonaboma, which was ceded out of the Atebubu Amanten District and put administratively, under the Afram Plains North.

The Afram Plains North shares boundaries to the south with Kwahu South District, to the east with the Volta River, to the west with two Districts in the Ashanti Region precisely the Sekyere-East and Asante-Akim Districts to the north with two districts in the Brong Ahafo Region namely Sene East and Atebubu Amanten Districts.

The population of the district according to the 2010 population and housing census stands at 102,423 with 54,183 males and 48,240 females.