New Juaben South Municipality

The New Juaben South Municipality is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal, District Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of the 33 (thirty-three) Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region. and was established in 1988 by the Legislative Instrument (LI) 1426.

The Municipality was established in 1988 by the Legislative Instrument (LI) 1426 and lies between longitudes 1030’ West and 0030 East and latitudes 60 and 70 North with Koforidua as its capital.

The Municipality shares common boundaries with East-Akim Municipal to the north-east, Akwapim North Municipal to the east and south and Suhum Municipal to the East. It covers a land area of 159 square kilometers representing approximately 0.6 percent of the total surface area of the Eastern Region.

The population of the Municipality according to the 2010 population and housing census stands at 183,727 with 88,687 males and 95,040 females.