La Nkwantanang Madina Municipal

The La Nkwantanang Madina Municipal is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region

La-Nkwantanang-Madina Municipal with its Administrative capital Madina was carved from Ga East Municipal and forms part of the new and Municipalities and Districts created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June 2012.

The La Nkwantanang Madina Municipality was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I.) 2131 and inaugurated in June 2012. It was carved out of the Ga East Municipality and is located in the northern part of the Region. It covers a total land surface area of 70.887 square kilometers.

It is bordered on the west by the Ga East Municipal, on the east by the Adentan Municipal, the south by Accra Metropolitan Assembly and the north by the Akuapim South District.

The population of the Municipality according to the 2010 population and housing census stands at 111,926 with 54,271 males and 57,655 females.